Thursday, September 13, 2007
Harrogate RA vs Mossley
Tuesday, September 11, 2007
Preparing for Harrogate...
Are we ??
Blimey I've outlined the timetable - by rail - on the Mossley messageboard - OK it's tight at the Harrogate end but isn't that part of the fun (actually catching the 2139 back from Starbeck to Leeds will be the interesting one !!) It's Mossley (15th) away at Harrogate (16th) - far more important that some overpriced, overhyped TV thing - and if they were any good they'd (England) be home and dry by now ....
Meanwhile tonight - no football for me (if I'm out spending tomorrow anyway !!) Radcliffe have lost at Bamber Bridge which firmly entrenches them at the bottom - Bridlington also lost keeping them "down there" while Clitheroe's "moneyspinner" against FCUM was beset by floodlight failure (hope they had enough "unique" raffle tickets to give out for free entry to the re-arranged model). Our "bete noire" as in Woodley Sports drew 0-0 at home to our "nearest and not so dearest" as in Curzon Ashton. Ashton United got a good 2-1 away win at Marine, while my "team of choice" for Saturday (yes arranged BEFORE the Rossendale v Mossley re-arrangement) Belper Town appear to have got a good tonking at home by Sheffield FC - and Darlo says "Ouch" ...
Meanwhile for those of you without a colour licence, here's me fiddling around from Saturday's nadir/perigee/call it what you will......

(Note for Aaron @ Woodley - doing it THIS way means that Liam's shirt doesn't look so 'shirt without the ''r" ' - if you know what I mean !!)
Sunday, September 09, 2007
Life after Football...
However - after yesterday's "nadir" - well let's hope it was a "nadir", I was off to Rochdale/Whitworth for the "Last Chance of a Barbie before the weather gets sh*te" Barbecue. Stayed over and this morning we dashed back - dropped off large boy before shooting off to do an 18 miler starting at Reddish Vale and doing a circle round to Werneth Low, then Etherow then Chadkirk, Woodbank Hall Park, Vernon Park and back to Reddish.
Home for tea about 1930 - "house tidy", bath and now downloading 231 pictures - then they need looking at, compressing and uploading ...football fans should head for
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/WoodMossLeague/
and walkers - and lovers of the great outdoors - should try
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/StockportRing2007/
...but "give me just a little more time" - as Chairman of the Board would say - I'm getting there...
Saturday, September 08, 2007
Woodley - again !!
Thursday, September 06, 2007
Didn't watch it but ......
Yes I'm referring to the appearance of Stafford Rangers on the "Carlos Santana Channel" tonight against Halifax - a 2-1 lead which has turned into a 3-2 defeat. I remember watching them on TV - god - 10 years ago on some strange satellite channel - against Yeovil I think - a 0-0 draw was watched by me and me only in a pub in Stalybridge - everyone else was either drinking beer, knitting or watching the paint dry ...
I could go into the full-time/part-time argument - but then I'd start to sound like some kind of "Premiership Pundit" - perish the (highly paid) thought ...
I can go back to FA Cup 2nd Round in 1974 against Halifax Town when Halifax were League and "Boro" were Northern Premier - who remembers the Jimmy Sargeant "screamer" for the 2-1 win ??
I finish as I start...
ARSE !!
Wednesday, September 05, 2007
Woodley Replay - Updated Wednesday
Pix at....
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/MossWoodFACPrem1Rep/
WEDNESDAY UPDATE - Can't add to much to what others have said - the effort IS there - but the basic mistakes are being punished, and this is having a big hit on the "on-field confidence" causing changes back to the "hoof" mentality - and some unnecessary "panic stations" - - plus a concentration thing - we ARE conceding close to half-time/full-time rather a lot - a small confidence-building/relaxation event would cover this ("Rag" on a Friday/Saturday morning to see how the hard-core fans cope with it - see how Topsy concentrates for the "full seven hours" - just a thought Gerry !!!).
I'll be honest - I've not even looked at the attendance last night - I was 5 minutes late, but the atmosphere seemed really "flat" from the start - which I guess again doesn't help the confidence on the pitch - the taxi cab that was the Woodley fan base (no disrespect) made a damn site more noise. Again I think we're back to the "our fans make more noise away from home" syndrome - but hasn't that always been ??

Here's an "STS" exclusive - an early effort from Lee Connor nestling in the arms of Liam Higginbottom - who's that Welsh chappie top right ?!?!?!?!?
Still - 'twas only the FA Cup - we weren't gonna win that one were we ?? Means we now have a free date on 15th September - no doubt a "re-arranged" will kick in - but myself and Mrs Smiffy will be visiting the mother-in-law that weekend - twas pre-arranged (and now just happens to fit in with the Belper Town v Causeway United game in the "only the FA Cup" round that we're not in....had we gone through I'd have been hoping for Hallam, as Sheffield to Derby is easy on the train - although rumour has it, a Hallam game will be played on a Friday night once again due to cricket team priorities (thanx to Aaron for that info - no bloody use to us now though is it - you Woodley fan you !!).
Ho - hum - now looking forward to a repeat on Saturday - this time it's three points rather than £1,000 though. I need an early night as well - three-and-a-half games in four days - and the camera-fiddling that goes with it - is starting to take its toll.
PS Thanks to Dave Bax for the "special" Ashton United progs - they'll be travelling with me on the 15th September !!
Tuesday, September 04, 2007
Ashton United vs Hednesford Town
The pix (God I'm gonna struggle at night games !!!) are at ...
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/AshtonEnsfud/
Note my spelling of the South Staffordshire boys - none of the "Hed-nesss-ford" crap in my head - being a Staffordshire chappie.
Plenty of celebs noted at the game - Cyril (everyone knows Cyril !!), Sam & Peggy (ex-Mossley supremos), Chris Wilcock and John Flanagan from Woodley (we'll see them later tonight !!). Plus John Milne is trying to grow a beard - oh no John no John no !!
Enough - twas only "Arthur Game" for me ...read 'the truth' at
http://www.ashtonutd.com/reporthednesfordh.htm
Monday, September 03, 2007
I May Rant ....I may be "over 50" but ....
Sunday, September 02, 2007
Woodley Sports v Mossley - FA Cup Prelim Round
2242 - Still fannying with pix - will be at
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/WoodleyMossleyFACPrem1/
At least I'm dry - now .....1-1 by the way - not pretty - but then again weather was pretty ugly !! More to come - promise - how the eco-warriors got there - got wet - got home etc etc.
"After 11 o'clock" - here we go ..... We started early on the 1134 from Mossley - it's Sunday y'know (trains are only every 3 days on a Sunday - or something similarly sh*te !!). Must get my brownie points in though - in prep of Mrs Smiffys' return, I was up at Mossley Co-op at just after 1000 to get some stuff for tea. When I left the house (at a jog - at 1128 !!) there were two dishes in the fridge - one containing fish (trout and salmon) and one containing par-boiled veg for roasting) - I'll make someone a lovely wife .... if I remember rightly - when I came out of the Co-op it had started to rain (remember this word - it returns several times..)
Enough indulgence - off the train at Stalybridge - no time for a Buffet bar visitation as the Piccadilly train was only 6 minutes behind. Into Picc and with a 40 minute wait for the Gatley train an adjourniment was made to the "Balcony Bar". Some fun on the 1249 to Gatley - a fare dodger" (only one I hear you say ???). Conductor got his details - I took his picture !!! Should I pass these details onto Northern Rail ??? I buy a £21-80 weekly ticket every week - I am not into train travel to subsidise fare dodgers - his "mate" was even carrying a "Costa Coffee" cup - if that isn't taking the p*ss what is ??? We could see it was raining out of the windows.....
Enough old man rant - from Gatley station it's about a 25 minute walk to Cheadle Town FC - yes the FA won't let any play in their cup who's got a "placcy pitch" - would be intersting if someone like Arsenal "went plastic" - one rule for the rich and one for the poor would be my guess .. it rained all the way to Cheadle Town FC.
It was a quiet ground at 1330 - but the bar was open. I have to be honest though - I think the cigarette ban may well have hit hard at Cheadle Town FC - there is a distinct smell of damp/mustiness in the air I'm afraid - with no fag smoke to mask it (and the slugs must have had a real party last night - happy trails everywhere). The welcome was fine however (keg John Willie Lees for those who want to know). We were all looking forward to the unveiling of the new "away strip" - tangerine and black. Still raining by the way.
To the game - as usually there will be much more eloquent, hirsute (??) witty (?) pithy (???) observations to my own - but we were a shadow of the team that played at Lancaster on Bank Holiday Monday - maybe for many reasons - weather - crap pitch (which had been played on 24 hours earlier - and had not been "attended to" post-Saturday game - naughty) - playing on the Sabbath - weather - price of bacon - weather - I could go on ....still raining y'know ... here's a picture of Aaron's shorts by the way .... notice that it's raining by the way .....can you see the umbrella - ella - ella - ella ... (note for casual viewers - there ARE some much better pix on the photobucket link above - then again - it WAS raining ....)

Anyroad up Woodley took the lead they'd deserved (i.e. they were less poor than us !) just before the half-hour through Robinson. This did seem to wake us up a bit - oh forgot to say - still raining - and we got back on terms at the best possible time - literally seconds before half-time when Rich Conway squeezed one in - I wasn't expecting it - but see http://www.mossleyweb.com/MatchReports07~08/vWoodleyFACA.htm - cus Gary got the goal !! That's Gary with the quality weatherproof condom as opposed to my tea towel (we're talking camera protection here before you get carried away - it was raining after all)
Half-time - raining by the way - second half - weather worsened leaving a couple of teams to huff and puff their way to 90 minutes. A fair result I suppose - weather was apalling though (rain y'know). As the full-time whistle went we left sharpish - our train from Gatley was leaving in 30 minutes. We negotiated pools of water everywhere through Cheadle Village (something to do with rain I'm told) before arriving at the station with 5 to spare. On the train I made what has to be considered the "ultimate sacrifice" - my camera-drying towel was offered to the masses - and young Charlotte starts drying her bloody jeans with it !! Once again - time in Mancy Picc - this time to the "Sports Bar" to catch the last 10 minutes of the Vill/Chelsea game - when that Villa second goal went in - I couldn't believe how many Brummies were in that bar, such was the roar - be sensible Smiffy - they're all Reds !!! 1812 was our overture to leave Picc - a quck phone home to say "Put Oven on 6 - give it 5 mins then bung them two dishes in the fridge into said warmed oven") - no time (again !!!) for a snifter at Stalybridge before our carriage to Mossley arrived.
Home greet the "world tourer" - tea was marvellous - all I had to do was steam some broccoli - all the hard work had been done some ten hours earlier..pix to sort - done - and then to this.
Trusting all peeps etc will have dried out before Tuesday's replay......
A very late Drunken Woodley preview
..so we play at Cheadle Town - not easy for us "eco-warriors" - especially on a Sunday - but the walk from Gatley Station is shorter than from Cheadle Hulme station - so 1134 from Mossley is the train of choice - keep your 4x4 at home - better still set fire to the bloody thing and buy a weekly traincard (£21-80 - works for me - and the odd 20 minute walk is marvellous for one's health)
£1000 is up for grabs as well tomorrow - just think - if Woodley win they'll be paying most of that to Cheadle for ground hire - if we win it's ALL OURS !!!
The Woodley/Mossley link grows ever less - Adam Morning now at Bradford PA - Russ Headley "somewhere" (not Alfreton anyway - too much of "a player" for that league) - Mario is still there but he's not the man he was - cus I've seen him this season - too busy moaning and not playing (saw 'em aginst Droylsden and Hyde pre-season). However they do have Chris Wilcock as Manager - who I thought was treated really really badly when he was at Mossley - the guy ran for miles every game - he may not have scored a lot but his effort created many a Mossley goal- truly a top player.
In the style of our SJNR where you'll find a much more educated / sober "preview" which wasn't done at 3 in the morning before the game (http://mossley80.blogspot.com/) "I Predict a Riot" - no but really it'll be a good test because the "local rivalry" will certainly kick in - but if we play like we played at Lancaster last Monday - we'll grab that grand !
Saturday, September 01, 2007
Hyde United v Redditch United
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/HydeRedditch/
(More for the dog owners @ Glossop Beer Fest - bear with me - there's more to come !)
Star Date 2343 - or nearly midnight - pix sorted at above link - now what about today ??? I've got to say from the start that it was a good "full day out" !! Started at 1157 with the train to Stalybridge - a couple of pints of Nottingham Brewery "Extra Pale Ale" before getting to Ashton - quick one in the "Prince of Orange" (needed a pee !!!) before 330 bus to Hyde. Walked over to the "Sportsman" where I met Gav, Pras and a few others (Daleside "DUFF Blonde" was the 'soup de jour').
The game - obviously you'll get a better call on the match at http://www.hydeunited.co.uk/reports.htm or check out the fan's view at http://www.eyeonthetigers.co.uk/forum/ - but I thought Hyde were comfy throughout - sad to say (as a Midlander myself) but Redditch had very little to offer up front, and by the end the wheels had all but fallen off the defence. A very well deserved victoire for "Les Tigres". And here's the STS "exclusive" !!!
Anyway enough of that - a swift walk down to Newton Station to get the 1705 to Glossop - the much-vaunted "Big Day Out" was reduced to Gav, Pras and myself !!!. Off the train - into the "Star" car park - and we were off again...(Parish Brewery "somehing" was my starter). HOWEVER ..on the train in we'd noticed the cricket pitch - so a swift detour to watch the end of the Glossop CC vs Woodbank CC was in order (I've never done cricket before with the camera - now that is different !). Glossop won handsomely by 9 wickets - and then back to the "real" beer - Hornbeam Brewery "Top Hop" was a newbie for me (brewed in Denton apparently). We spotted Neil from Shaws Brewery rolling in a couple of 9's from his little van for tomorrow as well.
Then for me - a 237 bus home - via Royston Vazey - to Stalybridge - damn - a wait for a train - Millstone "Station" before catching the 2141 home - to this - a quick whip through 125 pix (I don't go mad - probably still have a bit a "roll of film" mentality - a mate I know from Rochdale goes wild - 400+ every game - but he's getting paid for the good'uns mind !).
All in all though - a thoroughly belting day out - leaving me only to sort out tomorrow's tea (Mrs Smiffy returns) (slow cooker job therefore !!) early doors before alighting the 1134 train on the "Road to Wembley" - Mossley away at Woodley Sports in the FA Cup Preliminary Round (£1000 up for grabs !) at 1500 hours (being played at Cheadle Town FC due to the FA ban on artificial turf).
Watch this space.....
Friday, August 31, 2007
Better than any wheel clamp !!
Thursday Night - Quiz and stuff..
.... and I caught a glimpse of the new Mossley "engine room" (Bob, Steve and Mick) ... with a nice reflection showing the mighty hills on the other side of the valley ...
(and I've NO IDEA what this little bit is either .... !!)
And I caught a snippet of a training sesh - and a much smiley sesh it seemed as well (Kitson - have you played basketball in your past ????)
Oh and the flaming piccy is from last Friday's "barbie" in Whitworth - I've had probs with "babycam" that now seem to be sorted - hence the delay ... (trust me the cooking was LONG over when this pic was took !!)
.
...plus I've listened to the "Big Baby Ernie" CD (see Lancaster post) on arrival home - if you like the Commitments - and that genre - you'll like BBE..
Thursday, August 30, 2007
DragonForce vs PowerQuest
Anyway - my point - knowing the toons like I know the toons - and listening to the toons - I now have come up with the premise that ....
1) DragonForce go into battle with a "grrrr" on their face....
2) PowerQuest go into battle with a smile and a cheery disposition ..
discuss ....................
PS I love them both and am counting the days to the "Black Crusade" tour in November .. fingers crossed DragonForce can get the sound right (Download 2007 nightmare returns !) And if they feel they need assistance, our Michelle (as in BSc (Hons) in Music Technolgy and Audio Systems Design) should be back in the country in late October - if the DragonForce crew aren't reading this maybe the Manchester Evening News Arena peeps are....
Our Mich will sort you - any other bands looking for solid Sound Engineer experience leave a note for me - I'll pass it on..
Wednesday, August 29, 2007
Bristol City v Manchester City
Thus I found myself at the "Railway" in Greenfield watching said game. Quick resume (don't know how to put the accent on the "e" - sorry !).
City looked good first half - stringing stuff together pass-wise and certainly worth the 1-0 lead at half-time - nice goal from Mpenza. Second half - they were crap - really - in my eyes anyway - hoof ball - couldn't string one pass together let alone none....Bristol equaliser summed it up - two for the ball in the air - both missed and sloppy stuff on the ground.
Fortunately Rolando Bianchi pulled them out of the .... with a late winner - god he'd missed a few throughout the game (should have stuck to selling furniture in Macclesfield with his brother Arighi - sorry that goes down as a fairly local (North West) joke).
And why did all the Bristol players have their "Christian" names on their shirts ???? And why were they all called Blackthorn ?? And yes I spotted Stalybridge reject Lee Trundle ....
So - no extra time/pens gave me the chance to come home (fairly) sober and sort out the Curzon/Radclife pix (see thread below).
If anyone knows of a game in the Tameside area tomorrow evening - let me know - otherwise it's the Mossley AFC Quiz Night......actually sod it - Quiz Night sounds good !!
Curzon Ashton v Radcliffe Borough
Until later.....
2246 i.e. later pix now up at ..
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/CurzonRadcliffe/
I'd have been earlier - but while Mrs Smiffy is away (ironically tonight in Bristol) I continue my "orgy of football" watching the Bristol City v Man City game ...worth another post - hell yeah !
Monday, August 27, 2007
Lancaster City v Mossley
Tonight will be tricky - cus I've had a few beer type things in honour of Mossley's 2-0 win @ Lancaster today - a well deserved win as well - a good first goal and then we kept the magical 41/42/43/44/45 minute bit CLEAN !!! Here's a little tempter - Kitson celebrates the first goal - as does Nigel and John Wharmby, Orph and Jaya !!

Second half - looked so comfy it's untrue - we stuffed 'em - and they beat FSCUM ???
Pix will be going in
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/LancasterMossley/
soon !!!!!
at 2343 - And there's a lot !!!!!
@0013 - I could have done more ( but I'm a picky bugger with pics - so enjoy what you see !!) ...but hey let's just say - well chuffed at today's performance - we are truly "getting there" - a grand day out and a grand result. God I'm so so so pleased.
And here's a pic of "Big Baby Ernie" who were playing at "The Pub" in in Lancy central on our slow way back home - I have the CD if anyone wants a bit - we caught them toward the end of their set playing "Call Me the Breeze" (JJ Cale - Lynyrd Skynyrd - you choose)...this pic does NOT show their hairy singer.
But this one does - don't mention "Magic Numbers" - he'll probably hit you !!!!

and the train home...like to think that my Manfrotto monopod looked good as an air guitar while I was doing "Valley of the Damned" by DragonForce - seemed to keep the non-footy punters happy as well - cus I was !!!! What a good day !
Sunday, August 26, 2007
Lancaster City away - Preview
The "Kinder Round" ...
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/KinderRoundAug2007/
I need a bath - so I'm going for one now (star date 2143)....otherwise Lancaster tomorrow will be a health hazard !!
Mossley v Bradford PA
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/MossleyBradfordPA/
...as we blog ....
Later today I'm supposed to be doing the "Kinder Round" - 18 miles or summat - so I'll aim for getting the pix up f'now - I'm sure SJNR will be already transcribing a much more eloquent view of today's proceedings as we speak - or if he's any sense he'll be in bed - anyway if all else fails...try here..
http://mossley80.blogspot.com/
Wednesday, August 22, 2007
Mossley v Curzon Ashton - updated
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/MossleyCurzon2007/
put a few in tonight (0215) - to be going on with ..
but it'll be tomorrow /today evening now............
THE TOMORROW EVENING BIT ...
(For the lazy ones - loads more pix now available at the above link ....)
Last night - "came out of the blocks" really well - hustled, hassled and gave Curzon no room to play/relax/do stuff - and we took the lead through some good work from Kitson.....

Trouble was - Curzon then seemed to settle down a bit - and put pressure on - and I as speccie started to worry. The biggest bugger was them getting the equaliser in stoppage time (exclusive pic to STS this one...)

Second half - never in it really were we - too much "hoof" - whereas Curzon were playing well as a unit as they say - I remember when I saw them against Sheffield - they looked much better. second half. Her'es another STS exclusive - the Curzon "pile on" after their winner..

'Twas my first League game of the season last night - missing Garforth due to engagements with rain, wind and general sh*t in Ireland - word was that the performance last night was not dissimilar to last Saturday - so obviously the right people SHOULD know where it's going wrong. Once again Mr B. Phillips (Bradford PA) was in attendance last night - in prep for Saturday - they've lost tonight to Ossett (also notice that FCUM have lost - at "home" (Bury) - to Garforth - which probably makes our Saturday result a little easier to live with).
Early days yet - at least it's Clitheroe at the bottom not us - to RoyF, LD and the guys - please excuse that tiny little bit of "nerr nerr ne nerr nerr" - as they say !
Monday, August 20, 2007
"TGSKHD 2007" - Part Two
Ferry arrived Dublin Port about 1745 – we were booked into a campsite 250 miles away !! We rung and made apologies. Getting out of Dublin was a nightmare – the roads were pretty well gridlocked – and where they weren’t, they were “under construction” with all the attendant tailbacks. Oh yes, it was chucking it down. We got as far as Portlaoise without finding a campsite – it was still raining. We ended up shelling out for two rooms at the “Comfort Inn” (Me and Mrs Smiffy and our Peter and friend). It was dry – and we also paid out for a decent meal – and I got my one and only pint of Guinness (OK it was two actually !) this holiday.
Wednesday morning – left hotel very late – headed off towards Cahersiveen and Mannix Point Campsite. Took most of the day but we got there – it was wet – it was windy – add to that a new tent – ‘twas tricky (!) but we got there – apparently I swore a lot. The state of the camping fields was not so good – we’d opted for shelter from the winds, but this put us at the bottom of the field. The evening/night brought what sounded like force 9 gales and heavy rain – uncomfortable to say the least …

Two Tents Suffering ...
Thursday – another late start – but we got a look round the town, the museum (Daniel O’Connell born here), got stuff required for the mountain climb and rest of the holiday. Here's a picture taken in town - for some reason I just like the picture - if you can work out why - let me know - because I'd love to know too !!

Me and Mrs Smiffy even got a walk in, to the top of Beentee, just outside the town (it began as a stroll along the water side…but one thing led to another and next minute we were 600 metres up !!!). This was the “dry day” – but weather again bad at night
Friday – supposedly the best day – the assault on Carrantouhill – got off to a bad start due to the inability of the Irish to signpost anything properly. We got there eventually (one hour later than hoped) and off we went. Yes the cloud was somewhat "low"....

Began OK – squally showers and a bit windy – then we saw the “Devil’s Ladder” – approx 1000 feet pretty sheer climb - it's that bit in the middle (sod the "Rule of Thirds" - it was wet and windy !)

We scrambled to the top of that and were told the summit was about another 30 minutes. However - by now it was thick mist, hailstones and gale force winds that were quite literally knocking people over. We “went for it” for about 20 minutes, but had to stop/turn back – it was too dangerous – the GPS reading – when compared with the map later – showed we were about 500ft from the top – so near and yet ….Now we had the 1000 feet scramble down – and the weather on top was working its way down the mountain as well – it was a miserable return. Grabbed a cuppa in the café at the bottom of the mountain (and watched the Sky weather on their TV for the next few days – sh*te, sh*te, sh*te). The four of us were completely sodden – and I think I knew then that the end was close. An 30 mile drive back to the campsite was followed by the worse night of the holiday – wind like I’d never seen it, rain like I’d never seen it – I reckoned the field was like Glastonbury – Mrs reckoned more like the “bloody Somme !”. The kids’ tent was suffering – gravity was taking its course with the water…
Saturday morning – council of war – “cut and run” was the decision – and we weren’t the only ones on the campsite either. Thanks to our sooper dooper “Flexi” ticket we amended our ferry booking from Tuesday @ 1800 to Saturday @ 2115. Packed up in as quick a time as possible and then headed towards Dublin. 50 kms outside Dublin the traffic ground to a halt on the M7 – a fatal crash had closed the motorway – and probably caused many people to miss ferries ! Luckily we had that extra time to spare, and by going up and around the ring road and through the toll tunnel we avoided the sh*te that is driving through Dublin. Apparently a “choppy crossing” arriving in Holyhead about 0045. Drive back to Mossley through more (Welsh/English) wind and rain arriving home at 0330.
Big up to Stena Line – that little extra money for the “Flexi” tickets helped us out on both legs of the journey in the end.
Today was mostly spent washing stuff, drying stuff (still got the big tent to sort out yet – aargh !) and generally recovering from what will be remembered as ….something. We’ll laugh about it in years to come – as they say …and we never had to show our passports once !
Might go to work tomorrow/today…
Sunday, August 19, 2007
"The Great South Kerry Holiday Disaster 2007"
Here's training night at St. Mary's GAA for starters - Football of the Gaelic variety...

And here's part of our very own "Glastonbury in Ireland" ... the campsite ...

Back later with more horror stories - promise !!
Monday, August 13, 2007
Voicemail
I'm sorry, but I'm away on annual holiday at the moment, climbing big mountains in Ireland and drinking copious amount of Guinness.
Please feel free to leave your name and comment - I'll get back to you on my return (22nd August).
Bleep ....
Saturday, August 11, 2007
Curzon Ashton v Sheffield FC
But first - 'twas the start of the season for many today - in time-honoured fashion I wandered into Stalybridge Buffet Bar on my way to Curzon today - the Mossley trains were - once again - going Stalybridge --->Piccadilly, thus missing out Ashton. Never mind a couple of beers before catching the "Rail Replacement Bus". The Buffet bar was busy - it contained Kettering fans (@ Stalybridge), FCUM fans (friendly @ Ashton United), and Bradford City fans (@ home to Macclesfield - these guys live in Ashton !). Many chats were had (FCUM Gary - see you later this season) before I got to Ashton and walked over to the "Tameside Stadium" for the 2pm kick-off against Sheffield FC.
Met Colin and little Callum at the ground before watching 45 minutes of "rough house football" from the home team - that just about sums it up. Arms, elbows, and general "non football". Unfortunately Sheffield got into the swing of it and became the "hard done by" side and made rough challenges look like GBH. They didn't need to - they looked a good footballing side - direct and with some good front runners. However it was Curzon who went into the break 2-0 ahead.

One of several "incidents" - no Mickey Norton (9) is NOT being congratulated - he is being held back...
In the bar at half-time - two other Mossley fans turned up saying "There's no-one on the turnstiles - what's going on ?". We advised them that it was half-time and it had been a 2pm kick-off !!!!!
Second half - with Curzon having roughed up Sheffield in the first 45, they then proceeded to play a bit of football - and Sheffield just seemed to capitulate and Curzon eventually ran out 5-1 (6-1 ?? I only take the pix - and I did not count the number of "James Brown" samples !!!) winners.
If you're a Mossley fan - I'd say - "comfy - roll on 21st August" - if I was a Unibond 1 referee I'd say "don't forget to pack your cards" - Mickey Norton is better than that (or so I thought - is he worrying about reaching his "level" - I won't mention Woodley Sports or anything like that of course .... but you know the incident I mean - if you were there) - and he wasn't the only one - just so bloody unnecessary - unless that's the game plan for the season.
So - disappointed with Curzon in a number of ways - if you think that's the way to cope with Unibond 1 - you won't win too many new fans that's for sure - and be honest that's what you need. When you've got your manager - the "mighty gobster" Gary Lowe - telling players to "calm down" (mentioning no names - but Giggs comes to mind) - there's something that needs looking at.
The other problem of course is that with so few supporters the "stupid inane comments" from the stand are so much more easily heard - so to the gobby one - have you ever been kicked on the leg - yes it bloody hurts, and you DO need to go down and "take five" - if you're not sure please make an appointment with me and I'll prove the point) .

Pictures from the game will follow at the following....
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/CurzonSheffield/
I'll put a few tempters in now - with more to follow....
...but then - I'm going down the pub, cus there's no beer (and no Mrs Smiffy) in the house !!
POSTSCRIPT - never made it to the pub - got beer came home sat in garden listening to a "Finland Rock Evening" - Turisas, Lordi and Nightwish - before the rains came. And for "gobby in the stand" - this is how the leg looks now (no doubt you'd have expected me to get up, get back on the pitch and kick some Sheffield guys - I reckon I'm now available !!)
Mossley v Marsden
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/MossleyMarsden/
Tomorrow sees the start of most leagues under the sun - apart from the Unibond. Probably the "one to go for" round here will be the beginning of Droylsden's "voyage" into the Conference National - or Blue Square Premier as it's now known - with their home game against Salisbury City. Stalybridge kick off with a home game against Kettering Town ....and Hyde are away at Worcester City (hope the football ground drains better than the cricket pitch !) - while Ashton United have a pre-season friendly against the "upstarts" of FC United of Bury.
I'm going to watch Curzon Ashton in their (2pm kick-off note !) pre-season friendly against Sheffield FC (oldest club in the known universe etc). Please don't anybody see this as a slight against the "bigger boys" - as I said, Droylsden is the "big one" tomorrow, but I don't really feel I want to "p*ss on their parade" if you know what I mean - tis a day for the true fans and the "wannabee fans" - let's hope the day goes well and the "wannabee" fans get tempted to stay (anyway Carl takes a better picture than me !!) . Stalybridge is is always a tempter - possibly due to the Buffet Bar in between !! However I'll make it simple with a trip to Curzon - can check out the "oppostion" for Mossley on the 21st August - a game I'll miss, being somewhere 'twixt Dun Laioghaire and Holyhead at KO time !
My best wishes - naturally, in "Six Tame Sides" fashion - go to all three Blue Square Boys - let's hope they can all get off to a good start. For Mossley and "the Ashtons" - another 7 days....
Wednesday, August 08, 2007
Mossley v Elland Athletic
Met Benny Phillips (Bradford PA Manager) tonight - they're over here on the "apres" Bank Holiday Weekend. We've all told him what to do with Adam Morning - remember we still have his best interests at heart - even if his agent has never heard of Mossley....(oh yes - give Danny Meadowcroft the week off !!)

Benny in the bar after the game.
Man of the Match for Elland - the one they called "Oily" - Matthew Hoyle perchamce ?? Come and join us - Halifax to Mossley - no big deal ....
Pictures to come no doubt at ...
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/MossleyElland/
Tuesday, August 07, 2007
Sunday, August 05, 2007
Mrs Smiffy's "new baby" - and other non-football stuff !


Think mine was the one on the left - ask me tomorrow (this picture being the cue for howls of horror/disgust from the "real ale" lobby !!)
Saturday, August 04, 2007
Woodley Sports v Hyde United
A bit disappointed with Hyde today - they looked a lot better at Clitheroe than they did today (yet to hear anyone blame the "fieldturf" though).
Woodley - hard to say really - talking to Tony Whiteside early on, the situation at Woodley is not dissimilar to that at Mossley i.e. new Manager coming in and literally starting with a squad of ZERO (Ok at Woodley it's 3 - Mossley it's 0). I'll be brutal - Mario (Daniel) still flatters to deceive - if he concentrated on his game rather than getting involved in petty squabbles all the time ....
However if you recall my Clitheroe v Hyde post (back to "feisty", "robust" etc !!) - there was similar at Lambeth Grove today - including a "pitch invasion" from the Hyde bench after what looked like a sending-off (for dissent ??)
I think common sense was restored and the player was in effect "substituted" cause Hyde were soon back up to 11 players. I guess the referees have their "pre-season training" too - although if today's - and last night's at Mossley - are the state of things to come this year - officious, fussy - gobby even. I'd certainly be interested to read the 2007/08 "directive" that's been issued to referees (something like "Number 1 - P*ss everyone off; Number 2 - See Number 1" - maybe a little harsh but - use some bloody discretion for Frith's sake .....)
I think it's "Luke" on the Hyde board who said something like "It's only a PSF" - the Hyde fans were chanting "1-0 - in your Cup Final" - season starts for some next Saturday does it not ??? Woodley, Mossley and the rest of the Unibond still have another week....
Cracking goal to win the game mind - another Mario I believe (Brayant)
Once again...pix available at ...
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/WoodleyHyde2007/
Mossley v Ashton United
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/MossleyAshton2007/
I will put some words together later - but it's too bloody late now ....
OK - Saturday - I'd be using words like "rugged", "robust" , nay "feisty" (last used at the Clitheroe/Hyde game if I remember rightly !). Twas only to be expected, really what with the Mossley team filled with ex-Ashton players and vice versa (OK McCartney and Knight - two yellow cards - coincidence or what ?). Then it turns out it was NOT for the Willow Wood Hospice Cup at all !!
In fact what is Melford saying to the ref here ....

Only the second time I've seen Mossley this pre-season, but the progress is there for all to see - I guess there's a slight "comfy" feeling - Manager Gerry Quinn is going about things in what seems an unassuming way - and the results are happening on the pitch - Last night saw a 2-1 win (a pen for Connor and a cracking curler free kick from Gayle - there I was saying "free kick taker or goal ??" - and ending up with neither !). A late goal for Ashton United was followed by a few hairy moments but ....
Happy so far - now - where to go today ??
Thursday, August 02, 2007
Smoking Ban - One Month On .....
FOR - I’m sure that pubs are now that much cleaner air-wise – in the “Manchester Evening News” they did the ‘before and after experiment’ in one city centre pub showing a 60% improvement in air quality.
AGAINST – I’ve talked to a number of people who work in busy “city centre” pubs, and also people who go in same – some of them have noticed a problem with personal hygiene – i.e. the general smoky atmosphere disguised the fact that there are a lot of smelly, unwashed, unkempt pub goers out there – which to some people is actually WORSE than the smoke..
FOR – Bar staff have one less big jobby to do at the end of the evening, i.e. cleaning out loads of ash trays.
AGAINST – These same bar staff have been given an “extra line” in their job description, i.e. policing the non-smoking policy in the pubs – which includes checking out the bogs does it not ??? And see the next section…I’m sure it could happen to bar staff as well – remember the intolerant society we live in – on both sides of the smoking argument….
MORE AGAINST – Security guard in London club trying to sort out “illegal” smokers – gets murdered – now that was not expected. On Stalybridge Station (you cannot now smoke on ANY station platform in England – enclosed or not) we have miserable git Garry (station staff) who due to his incapability of using a bit of discretion and politeness ends up causing grief, which led to him having to call the police (who I’m sure DID have far more important things to do – murder, robbery, speeding (HA !) – but still turned up in 10 minutes flat – priorities !!)
FOR – More non-smoking people can now go out to the pub in the full knowledge that they’ll be entering a smoke-free atmosphere.
AGAINST – Before the ban these non-smokers were already going to certain pubs anyway i.e. the out-of-town pubs where smokers were already “discouraged” due to the fact that the “pub” made their money on food rather than beer. The non-smokers sure as hell are not frequenting some of the pubs that I frequent (you know the street-corner type places – the true definition of the word “pub” – yes public house) – these are the pubs that will slowly die – i.e. the true pubs. The Bar/Restaurant type of stuff will thrive – I’ve no problem with that. I used to go in places like this – and I respected the rights of the eaters – viz no fags DESPITE there not necessarily being a “no smoking” ban. Could we argue that the “actions of a few” has caused “sh*t for the many” – it’s the usual case in this nannyUK we live in a few peeps misbehave – so everyone suffers …
FOR – We’re all going to be more healthy
AGAINST – I still have to negotiate carbon-monoxide emitting, gas guzzling 4x4 monsters on my way to the railway station. Bring on the congestion charges – will probably help to pick up the tax loss caused by the non-smoking ban eh what ??
Don’t forget – I gave up the evil habit a few months ago to pay for the camera – I now see myself as an “occasional smoker” having the odd one rather than the odd 30 !! My heart is still with the smokers in their fight against intolerance, aggravation and general stupidity – although the killing of a security guard for the sake of a smoke shows you just how much intolerance can go the other way.
Talking to Bruce tonight – this whole “standing/sitting outside” syndrome is not exactly causing havoc – it might be fine in Dublin where you go out for the craic cus there’s no bugger in the pub – but it’s playing havoc with previously well ordered friendships/meetings/night outs where some “do” and some “don’t” – people are being brought together in a different sort of way - people are also being split up from their normal friendship groups – yes meet new people but ….would you leave your beer outside while you went in for a pee ?
It’s just a shame that a “status quo” – if you like – has been violated - since then we’ve heard of ideas to put 7p on a pint of beer to discourage “binge drinking” - what’s next ?
Please see this as a "discussion dicument" by the way - I've certainly had a few "rants" on various messages boards around the non-league world - tis (and always will be) a subject where I "have a view" and one which confuse the "baccy fascists" who have have a much larger platform ....
Bridge v Oldham pix
Stalybridge Celtic v Oldham Athletic
Wednesday, August 01, 2007
Droylsden v Rochdale - A Total Shambles !
No - the shambles appear to be my pix from tonight's game - Gawd knows what I was - or wasn't doing - they just look mostly crap. I offer up Banim's first goal and the Rochdale equaliser for 1-1 here and now .

There's a few more at the usual place viz.
http://s146.photobucket.com/albums/r272/mossleysmiffy/DroylsdenRochdale/
but I've come home a bit p*ssed off tonight - OK it's still pre-season training for snapping as well as playing - at least Droylsden look like they're getting it right - I'll have another crack tomorrow at the Stalybridge v Oldham Athletic game.














